OHCHR ADU NGO Liaison Officer: Information Notes 8, 9

Reply-To: minelres-l@riga.lv
Sender: minelres-l@riga.lv
From: MINELRES moderator <minelres@mailbox.riga.lv>
Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2002 08:36:32 +0200 (EET)
Message-Id: <3C58205B.7C3BC8AA@mailbox.riga.lv>
Subject: OHCHR ADU NGO Liaison Officer: Information Notes 8, 9

From: MINELRES moderator <minelres@mailbox.riga.lv>

Original sender: Sandra Aragon <OHCHR-NGO@LIST.UNOG.CH>

OHCHR ADU NGO Liaison Officer: Information Notes 8, 9

Dear Members of the NGO community,

I would like to inform you that, on 28 January 2002 at the United
Nations headquarters in New York, the debate will begin in the Third
Committee of the General Assembly on agenda item 117: racism and
racial discrimination. The report of the World Conference against
Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and Related Intolerance will
also be before the Committee at that time. Following the adoption of a
draft resolution on this item by the Third Committee, it will be
considered by the General Assembly.

Yours sincerely
Sandra Aragón
NGO Liaison Officer
Anti-Discrimination Unit
Tel (41 22) 917 93 93
Fax (41 22) 917 90 50
E-mail : saragon.hchr@unog.ch

Dear members of the NGO Community,

I would like to inform you that the Permanent Forum on Indigenous
Issues will hold its first session in New York from 13 ? 24 May 2002.
The Permanent Forum was established in accordance with United Nations
Economic and Social Council resolution 2000/22 to serve as an advisory
body to the Council, with a mandate to discuss indigenous issues
relating to economic and social development, culture, the environment,
education, health and human rights.

The Forum is specifically expected to:

a. provide advice and recommendations on indigenous issues to the
Council, as well as to programmes, funds and agencies of the United
Nations through the Council,
b. raise awareness and promote the integration and coordination of
activities relating to the indigenous issues within the United Nations
c. and to prepare and disseminate information on indigenous issues.

The Forum will consist of sixteen independent experts, eight of whom
are nominated by governments and elected by the Council and eight
individuals appointed by the President of the Council following formal
consultations with governments on the basis of consultations with
indigenous organizations. (Please find attached the list of members
nominated for a 3 years period.); States, United Nations bodies and
organs, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental
organizations in consultative status with the Council may participate
as observers; organizations of indigenous people may equally
participate as observers in accordance with the procedures which have
been applied in the Working Group on Indigenous Populations of the
Subcommission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights.

We are pleased to inform you that the United Nations Voluntary Fund
for Indigenous Populations can provide funding for representatives of
indigenous communities and organizations to attend the Permanent
Forum. Find attached the relevant applications forms; please note that
the deadline for their receipt is 15 February 2002.
(From the MINELRES moderator: omitted because of size, sorry... -

For further information please contact Ms. Eulalia Ortado-Rosich,
United Nations Voluntary Trust Fund Unit, OHCHR, CH-1211 Geneva,
Switzerland, Tel.: +41 22 917 91 45; e-mail:

Yours sincerely

Sandra Aragón
NGO Liaison Officer
Anti-Discrimination Unit
Tel (41 22) 917 93 93
Fax (41 22) 917 90 50
E-mail : saragon.hchr@unog.ch

Membership 2002 Results of the ECOSOC nominations / elections

Indigenous experts

Mr. Antonio JACANAMIJOY (Colombia)
Mr. Ayitégau KOUEVI (Togo)
Mr. Willie LITTLECHILD (Canada)
Mr. Ole Henrik MAGGA (Norway)
Ms. Zinaida STROGALSCHIKOVA (Russian Federation)
Mr. Parshuram TAMANG (Nepal)
Ms. Mililani TRASK (USA)

State-nominated experts

Mr. Yuri A. BOITCHENKO (Russian Federation)
Ms. Njuma EKUNDANAYO (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Mr. Yuji IWASAWA (Japan)
Mr. Wayne LORD (Canada)
Ms. Otilia LUX de COTI (Guatemala)
Mr. Marcos MATIAS ALONSO (Mexico)
Ms. Ida NICOLAISEN (Denmark)

It should be noted that the nominee for eighth State-nominated seat,
which belongs to the Asian Group, will be determined shortly.

MINELRES - a forum for discussion on minorities in Central&Eastern

Submissions: minelres-l@riga.lv  
Subscription/inquiries: minelres@mailbox.riga.lv 
List archive: http://www.riga.lv/minelres/archive.htm